Who can request WDH to complete a background screening?
- Human resources personnel at a WDH-operated direct care facility,
- Supervisors for Public Health Nursing, Wyoming Public Health Laboratory, WIC or Vital Statistics Services
- A HCBS waiver provider, or
- HCBS waiver self-directed employer of record.
Can I submit a background screening application through WDH for myself?
No. Only human resources personnel at a WDH direct care facility, Wyoming Public Health Laboratory, WIC or Vital Statistics Services supervisors or a HCBS waiver provider may submit applications for background screenings. If you are applying to be a direct service worker for a HCBS waiver participant, the application must be submitted by the employer of record.
What’s the difference between a Central Registry and DCI/FBI fingerprint application?
A Central Registry application confirms if a person has abused or neglected a child and the future risk to a child is high or intensive. The Wyoming Department of Family Services (DFS) makes the determination by information gathered from complaints, investigations and other credible information available to DFS.
A DCI/FBI fingerprint application is also known as a request for criminal history record information (CHRI). A CHRI contains the history of an individual’s contacts with the state’s law enforcement agencies. It describes an individual’s arrests (in all states) and subsequent dispositions.
Can I submit application(s) for either the Central Registry or DCI/FBI fingerprints separately?
No. HCBS DD providers, WDH direct care facilities, Wyoming Public Health Laboratory, WIC and Vital Statistics Services require both DCI/FBI fingerprints and a Central Registry review. To ensure both are complete, both applications are processed at the same time. HCBS CCW providers are only required to do Central Registry checks at this time and can submit their information directly to DFS as outlined in the instructions provided by Fiscal Management Services.
What should my application contain?
Every application should contain the following:
- Background Submission Cover Sheet
- Payment (if an invoice account is not established)
- Central Registry application
- DCI/FBI fingerprint card
The DCI/FBI fingerprint cards are resilient during mailing. Cardboard or other items between cards is not necessary.
Employers and supervisors should check the applicant’s driver’s license (or other government issued I.D.) to verify their identity before submitting the application. WDH does not require a copy of the applicant’s I.D.
An authorization from the applicant is also no longer required.
What is the cost and how do I pay?
WDH accepts money orders, personal and business checks. Checks and money orders should be made payable to State of Wyoming. WDH will invoice programs with an approved invoice application on file.
$49 per person is the total cost. A breakdown of the fees follows:
State and National Fingerprint Check: $24 (Screen)
$15 (Application Fee)
DFS Central Registry: $10 (Screen)
There is no cost for an exclusions database screening.
If an applicant quits after I submit an application but before I receive the results can I get a refund?
WDH will apply the application fee to another application ONLY IF WDH has not already processed the application.
What information is required to be on an FBI/DCI fingerprint card (blue card)?
How long will the review take?
All background screenings take approximately 16 days from submission.
How will I receive my results?
WDH sends the Notice of Results by secure email to the identified facility human resources personnel, Public Health Nursing supervisor or HCBS waiver provider by secure email. The Notice of Results for a HCBS Self Directed Waiver Program Direct Service Worker will be sent via email to the HCBS Waiver Employer of Record indicated on the request and to the Fiscal Management Service to support processing of payroll. Notices sent to employers, supervisors and fiscal management services will only state whether or not the applicant meets the employment criteria and will not contain any details regarding the individuals background information.
Notice of Results will only be sent to the applicant if they do not meet the employment criteria or if the criminal history is missing disposition information. These notices will be sent by mail to the address on the applicant’s Central Registry from (SS-26 Agent) and will have more detailed information regarding the reason that the applicant did not meet the employment criteria.
What is the criteria for a does not meet determination?
Pursuant to Medicaid Rules and Regulations Ch. 45 Section 14, an individual does not meet the background screening requirements if: they are listed on the DFS Central Registry; they are listed on the Department of Health and Human Services Exclusions Database; or if a criminal history record check shows that the individual has been convicted, plead guilty or no contest to, or has pending deferred prosecution for an Offense Against the Person (Homicide, Assault, etc.), an Offense Against Morals, Decency and Family (Incest, Abandoning or Endangering Children, Protection Order Violation, etc.) or any similar law of any other state. All relevant offenses can be found in Wyoming Statute, Title 6, Chapters 4 and 6.
What if I want to appeal a determination that was made by the WDH?
The WDH provides 60 days from the Notice of Results for applicants to correct or complete their background information. During that time, the applicant may request in writing that WDH reconsider the applicant’s eligibility for employment under the Wyoming State Statutes and applicable rules and regulations. Please submit a reconsideration request Attn: Background Systems Specialist by fax to (307)777-1902, by email to firstname.lastname@example.org, or by mail to 2300 Capitol Ave, 4th Floor, Cheyenne, WY 82002.
Specific details regarding the criteria for employment and the process for appeals will be included with the applicant’s Notice of Results.