The Role of APS

APS cannot force people to accept help.
Adults have the right to refuse APS
assistance.

APS cannot force anyone to go into a nursing
home. APS is committed to helping adults
stay in their own homes as long as they can.

APS can tell you they received your report,
however, the APS worker can only discuss
the victim’s case with other agencies directly
involved in providing services to the client
that are defined in state law.

What will APS do?

An APS worker will interview the vulnerable
adult alone to determine the facts of the
situation. The APS worker may also interview
family members, the suspected abuser or
others involved.

If the abuse is serious, the APS worker can
make a report to the police. The APS worker
will also work to keep the family together
while helping eliminate abuse.

The APS worker will consult with the
vulnerable adult about what community
services are available to insure his or her
safety. With consent, the APS worker can
arrange for needed services and help the
vulnerable adult find helpful strategies.

Anyone can be a victim......

Abuse happens to men and women, rich and
poor, healthy and il and to all ethnic and
cultural groups. Although individuals who
are dependent on others for care are the
most likely to be abused, even healthy; ac-
tive adults can become victims.

......and anyone can be an abuser

To report suspected abuse or exploitation
call the Wyoming Department of Family Ser-
vices local field office or local law enforce-
ment agency in your community.

Wyoming Department of Family
Services

2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building, Third Floor
Cheyenne, WY. 82002

Phone: 307-777-7564

http://dfsweb.wyo.gov

Adult Protective
Services

Abuse, Neglect and
Exploitation of
Elders and
Vulnerable Adults

Social Service Division
307-777-7564



Who is a Vulnerable Adult?

Vulnerable Adults are people 18 years of age
or older who are vulnerable to abuse. It may be
because they are unable to perform or obtain
services needed to maintain their health, safety
or welfare due to a physical, mental limitation

or advanced age (60 years of age or more).

Adults who lack sufficient understanding or
capacity to communicate their needs are also

considered vulnerable.

An abuser can be a trusted family member,
caregiver or friend. Caregiver stress, substance
abuse, financial problems and personal
problems can all cause a well meaning person

to become abusive.

What is Abuse?

Financial Exploitation— The use of
a vulnerable adult’s money or
property for another’s advantage.

Neglect- Lack of food, shelter,
clothing or care provided to a
vulnerable adult. This includes
withholding medication or medical
care.

Self-Neglect— The inability or
unwillingness of a vulnerable adult
to care for herself or himself. This
may include self-abuse. Choice of
lifestyle, by itself, does not
indicate self-neglect.

Physical Abuse- Hitting, slapping,
pushing, kicking, burning,
confining, and restraining an adult.

Sexual Abuse— Sexual activity or
touching without the adult’s
consent or understanding.

Intimidation— Communication by
word or act that victim, family,
friends or pets will be deprived of
food, shelter, medical care or
financial support.

Reporting Abuse

Why should you make a report?

Since victims may be reluctant to report, they
need YOU to assist them in getting them the
help they need, and it is easy. Simply make a
phone call to  your local DFS or Law
Enforcement.

Wyoming is a mandatory reporting State. You
are protected from any liability as long as you
make the report in good faith.

\What happe ar you ke a report?

If you have given your name in the report, an
APS worker may call you to get more details
about the situation. Your identity will not be
revealed to the vulnerable adult or the
abuser.

APS upholds strict confidentiality between the
vulnerable adult and those involved in the
investigation. APS cannot divulge details of
the case with the person who reports.
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