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Background 
Public health orders continue and are modified periodically. All orders are designed to limit the spread of the COVID-19                                     
virus. Key definitions and order provisions are contained in each order. Questions regarding enforcement and interpretation of                                 
orders should be directed to your County Public Health Offices. 
 
The orders continue to permit educational institutions – like K-12 schools, universities, colleges, and trade schools – to                                   
provide in-person instruction for all students in groups of up to 50 persons with spacing guidelines. All plans for re-opening                                       
should follow all applicable requirements and policies set forth by the Wyoming Department of Education (WDE). See                                 
WDE’s ​Smart Start Guidance​ ​here​. 
 
This document provides guidance from the Wyoming Department of Health for educational institutions.  
 
Copies of the public health orders can be found here: ​https://covid19.wyo.gov/ 

General Guidance 
The Wyoming Department of Health recommends the following guidelines to educational institutions: 

1. Groups shall be limited to 50 people (students and teachers) in each separate room, subject to standard rules and                                     
regulations regarding class size.  

2. Six feet of separation between individuals should be maintained as much as possible. 
3. Up to 250 people may be allowed in larger rooms (e.g., cafeterias, auditoriums) if 6 feet of separation between                                     

individuals can be maintained.  
4. Students, teachers, and school staff shall wear face coverings both indoors and outdoors in situations where 6 feet of                                     

separation cannot be maintained. School districts can be more restrictive than the current statewide orders as long as                                   
they are in compliance with all other laws and regulations applicable to schools. The following are excepted from the                                     
requirement to wear a face covering: 

a. Children who are younger than three years of age. 
b. Individuals with a medical condition, mental health condition, or disability that prevents wearing a face                             

covering, including an individual with a medical condition for whom wearing a face covering could cause                               
harm or dangerously obstruct breathing; K-12 schools shall require documentation from the student’s                         
parent/guardian, or the student’s medical provider, that the student meets this exception. 

i. At the school district’s discretion, documentation can be either from a parent/guardian or from a                             
medical provider. If a school distrit so chooses, it can require that the documentation come from a                                 
medical provider.c 

ii. For purposes of determining whether the request falls within this exception, school districts may                           
determine the level of explanation they will require as to the reason for the request. 

c. Individuals who are unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove a face covering without                           
assistance. 

d. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing while communicating with others, or individuals who are                               
communicating with an individual who is deaf or hard of hearing, where the ability to see the mouth is                                     

 
 

https://1ddlxtt2jowkvs672myo6z14-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Smart-Start-Guidance.pdf
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essential for communication, in which case it is recommended that a face shield or alternative protection such                                 
as a plexiglass barrier be used (a face shield is a personal protective equipment device which protects the                                   
person’s entire face from potentially infectious materials). 

e. Individuals who have an Individualized Education Program (IEP) under the Individuals with Disabilities                         
Education Act, that would necessitate exempting the individual from wearing a face covering. 

f. Children for whom a face covering may interfere with the ability to effectively participate in educational                               
activities or may increase the risk of disease transmission because of increased hand to face contact. 

i. Exceptions under this provision may include, by way of example but are not limited to, students who                                 
are actively engaged in playing an instrument or students whose behaviors are negatively affected by                             
wearing a face covering for long periods of time. 

ii. Requests made under this provision are subject to school district approval. For purposes of                           
determining whether the request falls within this exception, school districts may determine the level                           
of explanation they will require as to the reason for the request. 

g. Individuals engaged in athletic activities, including informal active play. 
5. Six (6) feet of separation for students during transportation to and from the facility must be maintained as much as                                       

possible, and face coverings shall be worn during transportation when 6 feet separation cannot be maintained 
a. It is recommended that records be maintained of children and adults transported and which vehicle they were                                 

in for contact tracing purposes, if necessary.   
b. If eating and drinking are permitted during bus transport, brief mask removal for eating and/or drinking is                                 

permitted. 
6. Outdoor and indoor events attended by non-students (e.g., parents, families, or members of the public), must comply                                 

with the current provisions of the Continuation of Public Health Order #2. 
7. Students, teachers, and school staff must perform frequent hand hygiene (​wash hands frequently with soap and                               

water for at least 20 seconds. When soap and water is not available, use alcohol-based hand sanitizer with at least 60%                                         
alcohol volume).  

8. Individuals with symptoms of COVID-19, or exposure to an individual with COVID-19 within the last 14 days, may                                   
not attend the institution unless otherwise directed by public health officials. 

9. All persons in the facility should be encouraged to cover their coughs and sneezes in a tissue or with an elbow.  
10. Educational institutions should engage in frequent and thorough cleaning on a daily basis, following all applicable                               

regulations regarding cleaning, sanitizing, and disinfecting surfaces and other areas. 
11. Signs should be posted instructing and educating staff, students, and parents on staying home when sick, routine                                 

measures for hygiene, and mitigation of respiratory illness spread. The WDH recommends that schools communicate                             
with parents and students about the importance of staying home when sick. The CDC has ​specific resources for                                   
schools and ​numerous print resources​. 

12. Facilities such as libraries and gymnasiums may be open for student use following distancing protocols. For guidance                                 
on sports, the Wyoming High School Activities Association (WHSAA) ​Smart Start Guidance and WDH Guidance for                               
Youth Sports​ should be consulted. 

 

More resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for schools and child care programs can 
be found at​ ​https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/index.html​. 

For more information about the COVID-19 outbreak please visit: ​health.wyo.gov​ or ​cdc.gov​. 
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