#### STATE OF WYOMING AFFIDAVIT ACKNOWLEDGING PATERNITY

This is a legal document that establishes paternity under the Wyoming Parentage Act, W.S. 14-2-401, et. seq. Do not sign until you understand your rights and responsibilities as stated on the back of this form.

	1. CHILD'S FULL NAME AT BIRTH		2. CHILD'S DATE OF BIRTH	2a. CHILD'S SEX	
			07.475		
	3. CHILD'S PLACE OF BIRTH – CITY COUNTY STATE				
CHILD					
	4. CHILD'S NAME SHALL BE SHOWN ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE AS (Enter only if surname is to be changed)				
	5. MOTHER'S NAME		6. MOTHER'S MAIDEN SURNAME		
	7. MOTHER'S DATE OF BIRTH				
	7. MOTHER'S DATE OF BIRTH 8. MOTHER'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER				
MOTHER					
WOTTER	9. MOTHER'S MAILING ADDRESS – STREET AND NUMBER	CITY	STATE	ZIP	
	10. WERE YOU MARRIED TO SOMEONE OTHER THAN THE NATURAL FATHER OF THIS CHILD AT ANY 11. IF YES, NAME OF HUSBAND OR EX-HUSBAND				
	12. FATHER'S NAME		13. FATHER'S STATE or FOREIGN COUNTRY OF BIRTH		
	14. FATHER'S DATE OF BIRTH 15. FATHER'S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER				
NATURAL					
FATHER	16. FATHER'S MAILING ADDRESS – STREET AND NUMBER	CITY	STATE	ZIP	
	17. HAVE YOU SUBMITTED TO GENETIC TESTING TO DETERMINE IF YOU ARE THE NATURAL FATHER OF THIS CHILD?				
	IF YES, DID THE TEST RESULTS SHOW THAT YOU ARE THE FATHER OF THIS CHILD?				

We declare under penalty of perjury that the information in this affidavit is true and that:

- 1. We have been given written and oral notice of the legal rights and consequences resulting from acknowledging the paternity of our child and we understand this notice.
- 2. No other man is the acknowledged father of this child.
- 3. There is no court order naming another man as the father of this child.
- 4. We understand that the effect of the Acknowledgment of Paternity is a legal finding of paternity that may be challenged only under limited circumstances, and that challenge is barred after two years.

MOTHER	FATHER		
SIGNATURE OF MOTHER	SIGNATURE OF FATHER		
Subscribed and sworn to before me on	Subscribed and sworn to before me on		
In the State ofCounty of	In the State ofCounty of		
SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC	SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC		
My commission expires	My commission expires		
If the mother is under 18 years of age the signature of her legal guardian is required:	If the father is under 18 years of age the signature of his legal guardian is required:		
SIGNATURE OF LEGAL GUARDIAN	SIGNATURE OF LEGAL GUARDIAN		
Subscribed and sworn to before me on	Subscribed and sworn to before me on		
In the State ofCounty of	In the State ofCounty of		
SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC	SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC		
My commission expires	My commission expires		

# NOTICE OF ALTERNATIVES, RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

### WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THE AFFIDAVIT ACKNOWLEDGING PATERNITY?

This form is used to legally establish who the father of a child is when the mother and father are not married to each other. Paternity means legal fatherhood. The laws about this affidavit are found in the Wyoming Parentage Act, W.S. 14-2-401, et. seq.

#### ORAL NOTICE

Before you complete this form you must receive oral notice of the above information. This notice may be obtained over the telephone by calling (888) 570-9906. This is a toll free call within the State of Wyoming.

WHAT DOES IT MEAN IF THE AFFIDAVIT IS SIGNED AND FILED WITH VITAL STATISTICS SERVICES?

This affidavit is a legal document. It gives the father parental rights such as the right to seek child custody or visitation through a court action and to be consulted about an adoption of the child. It benefits the child by making it easier for the child to learn the medical histories of both parents, to benefit from the father's health care coverage, and to receive Social Security or Veterans' dependent or survivor's benefits, if eligible. It means that either parent may be court ordered to pay child support or provide medical support for the child. Signing this form allows the child's birth certificate to have the father's name on it.

Signing this form is voluntary. A correctly completed affidavit has the same effect as a court order establishing paternity. If you do not understand the legal consequences of signing this form, you may want to consult an attorney. The mother and alleged father should not sign this form unless they are sure that the alleged father is the biological father of this child.

### WHAT IF YOU CHANGE YOUR MIND AFTER SIGNING?

If either person changes their mind, that person may bring a court action within sixty (60) days of the date the form is filed with Vital Statistics Services to rescind the affidavit of paternity. After the sixty (60) days the affidavit may be challenged only in very limited circumstances. You may wish to consult a private attorney about what those circumstances are.

#### WHAT IF I DON'T SIGN THE AFFIDAVIT?

Either the mother or the alleged father will still have the right to bring a court action to determine paternity of the child. Either party can request genetic (DNA) testing by contacting a local child support office and opening a case or by hiring a private attorney. After the genetic test results are received, if they show that the alleged father is the biological father, this affidavit may be signed. You can find the location of the nearest child support office by calling (307) 777-6948.

#### FILING WITH VITAL STATISTICS SERVICES

- This affidavit takes effect when filed with Vital Statistics Services.
- If the alleged father has had a genetic test and that test has not shown that he is the biological father, this affidavit cannot be used to establish parentage.
- If the mother was married to someone other than the biological father of this child at any time within 300 days prior to this birth, an affidavit denying paternity signed by her present or former husband must also be filed, unless a court has determined that he is not the natural father. In that case a certified copy of the court order must accompany this affidavit.
- If the child is eighteen years old or over, Part II of this affidavit giving the adult child's consent must also be filed.

## Vital Statistics Services, Hathaway Building, Cheyenne, WY 82002, Phone (307) 777-6041